Monday, October 2, 2017

Moonlight and Hidden Figures Battle Out for Top Cosmo Honors

Both win four Cosmos, with Moonlight winning Best Film of 2016

Moonlight and Hidden Figures battled it out for top honors at the 2016 Cosmique Movie Awards, each winning four awards, more than any other films. Moonlight took home awards for Best Film and Best Director along with Best LGBTQ Film and Best Young Actor (Alex K. Hibbert), while Hidden Figures won Best Dramatic Film, Best Historical Film, Best Actress (Taraji P. Henson), and Best Script.

See the full list of winners.

Other top acting winners included Best Actor winner Andrew Garfield for Hacksaw Ridge, Supporting Actress Viola Davis for Fences, and Supporting Actor John Goodman with a surprise win for 10 Cloverfield Lane.

Vertigo was inducted into the Lifetime Achievement Hall of Fame. It was previously nominated for Movie With the Best Background Scenery and Most Effective Use of a Song or Background Music at the first Cosmos, winning neither.

Other Hall of Fame inductees included Rosalind Russell and Paul Newman for the Best Actress/Actor Halls of Fame, and Teri Garr and Richard Pryor for the respective Comedic Halls of Fame. Russell was previously inducted into the Best Comedic Actress Hall of Fame in 2006, making her the only actress to be inducted into both. Robin Williams was inducted into the Best Actor Hall of Fame in 2014 and the Comedic Hall of Fame in 2010, the only other person to achieve induction in both.

Other top 2016 winners with three wins each include Deadpool (Best Comedy, Favorite Heroic Male Character for Ryan Reynolds, and Best Superhero Film), La La Land (Best Musical and well as Actor/Actress’ Character You Would Most Like to be Intimate With for Ryan Gosling and Emma Stone), and Rogue One: A Star Wars Story (Best Visual Effects, Best Cameo for Carrie Fisher, and Best Male Villain for James Earl Jones, Spencer Wilding, and Daniel Naprous as Darth Vader).

The three actors co-winning Best Villain are the first joint acting awards issued in the awards’ history, though not the first joint acting nominees. (Darth Vader previously received co-acting nomination at the first awards, and this year Peter Cushing and Guy Henry were also co-nominated for depicting Grand Moff Tarkin in Rogue One). In non-acting awards, Valerie Faris and Jonathan Dayton previously co-won Best Director for Little Miss Sunshine.

In addition to her Best Cameo win, Carrie Fisher was also posthumously recognized as the co-subject of the Best Documentary win for Bright Lights: Starring Carrie Fisher and Debbie Reynolds.

Check out the complete list of 2016 winners.

No comments:

Post a Comment